Personal tools

Talk:Amaze enemy line

From Golden Sun Universe
Jump to: navigation, search

Amaze in DD: Psynergy?[edit]

Maybe this is a minor point, but it's my understanding that enemies only have PP if they can use Psynergy, and vice versa. Well, the Dark Dawn version of the Amaze has 10 PP but no Psynergy. Is this a goof on our part? Or a glitch in the game? Or does the rule only apply to the GBA games? The World's Hungriest Paperweight (talk) 10:57, 17 March 2013 (CDT)

Most likely that last option. Though realistically there's absolutely no practical difference to be had if an enemy without Psynergy has PP anyway or not. But since our sources are limited to the Bestiary FAQ, it's up to Mercury Mech the author to verify if it is the case that the Amaze does not actually have Psynergy, or does actually have PP despite that. Erik the Appreciator (talk) 11:57, 17 March 2013 (CDT)
Hmmm... Well, I guess for now I'll go with whether or not they have Psynergy, rather than PP. After all, having PP doesn't do you any good without Psynergy (although the other way around is also true...) Still, it would be nice to know for sure what's going on. I'll have to keep my eye out for other such cases, too, that way we can get them all out of the way at once. The World's Hungriest Paperweight (talk) 14:58, 17 March 2013 (CDT)
I found another one: The DD Ghost. Like with the Amaze, the Ghost lacks any Psynergy of its own but later members of the enemy line have some. I'm starting to sense a pattern here... The World's Hungriest Paperweight (talk) 12:08, 19 March 2013 (CDT)

Just to confirm: the DD version of Amaze does has 10PP, but no Psynergy (I tried using Psy Drain and Psy Grenades and each time they lost 10PP). I also double checked the Japanese strategy guides and they also listed Amaze with 10PP. The same also holds true for Ghost. --Mercury Mech (talk) 00:07, 20 March 2013 (CDT)

Thanks! I started to suspect it was intentional as soon as I found the Ghost, but it's always nice to have confirmation. So, based on this (admittedly minimal) evidence, it looks like enemy lines in DD follow some rule like this: If any member of the enemy line can use Psynergy, all members have PP meters. Obviously, I haven't checked every enemy line yet, and I could have easily overlooked a line that doesn't follow this rule. If this is true, though, should we keep assigning the "Psynergy-capable" DD cat to the individual members that actually have Psynergy, or should we be a bit more generous and let the entire line be treated as Psy-capable? I'm sure arguments could be made either way, but I'd favor the "entire line" approach simply because it's less work. I'm sure that's not a good enough reason, though, so I'll let someone else chime in. The World's Hungriest Paperweight (talk) 15:15, 20 March 2013 (CDT)
I'd definitely lean more toward the "extra work" route because it technically counts as misinformation to say that all members of a line are capable of Psynergy, and thus are applicable for having Seals used against them, if one of the enemies actually isn't. Erik the Appreciator (talk) 15:32, 20 March 2013 (CDT)
Well, technically Seals and PP-draining moves can be used on them. It just wouldn't have any practical effect. But that's just me being nitpicky. I'm willing to put in a little extra work for the sake of accuracy ;) The World's Hungriest Paperweight (talk) 19:35, 20 March 2013 (CDT)
Advertisements